Google bans 3 dangerous apps from the Play Store for theft of personal data: uninstall them now

0


[ad_1]

Google removed three malicious apps from its Play Store. These Android apps include Magic Photo Lab – Photo Editor, Blender Photo Editor-Easy Photo Background Editor, and Pics Photo Motion Edit 2021. According to Google, these apps stole users’ personal information and money. Although the applications are no longer activated Play at the store, Google advises users to immediately remove them from their devices. Also Read – Google Pixel 6 Launch, Pixel 6 Pro with Tensor Chip, Android 12 from $ 599

Also Read – Google Pixel 6 Pro Pricing, Specs Leaked Via Amazon UK Listing: Check Details

Kaspersky, a security firm, revealed that all three apps use Facebook credentials to trick users into accessing their bank accounts. “Login with Facebook” is a common option that several applications and web portals offer to users. Many users choose to go ahead with this option so that they don’t have to create a new account and save time. According to Kaspersky, these applications used this login data to steal user credentials and access their personal information. Read also – Telegram crosses the billion mark on Google Play Store

How can users stay safe from such applications

Users who already use these three applications, “Magic Photo Lab – Photo Editor”, “Blender Photo Editor-Easy Photo Background Editor” and “Pics Photo Motion Edit 2021”, will need to uninstall them manually from devices. On top of that, they should also change their Facebook login passwords, just to be safe.

From now on, users should try using popular photo editing apps so that the chances of their data being stolen are slim. Moreover, users should also be careful when downloading any app from any app store. They should always check for grammatical and factual errors, as such applications can be shady and dangerous for your data. Often times, apps look legitimate but are actually bogus.

For those in the dark, Google recently banned 150 Android apps from the Play Store due to privacy concerns. These applications used GriftHorse Trojan malware which infiltrated the devices. Once the apps were installed, users were bombarded with several alerts informing users that they had won prizes and could claim them immediately.

As soon as the user clicks on it, the malware redirects the user to a page where they must enter their phone number for verification. In reality, users have been tricked into submitting their details to a premium SMS service that starts charging € 30 (around Rs 2,500) per month.





[ad_2]

Share.

Leave A Reply