How to use secret conversations in Facebook Messenger

0


After WhatsApp, Telegram and Signal, Facebook Messenger has joined the club that prioritizes user privacy and security. Facebook Messenger offers a secret chat feature to enable end-to-end encryption of your chats so that no one can intercept and read them. Here is how you can use Secret Conversations in Facebook Messenger.



How to use secret conversations in Facebook Messenger

When you use Secret Conversations in Messenger, messages between you and the recipient remain secure with end-to-end encryption. Even Facebook can’t see these messages. Here’s how to use secret conversations in Facebook Mesenger.

Use secret conversations in Facebook Messenger

There are several reasons for opting for a secret conversation in Messenger, such as exchanging confidential or private information. For such activities, the use of secret conversations is appropriate.

To note: The screenshots below are from the Messenger app for Android. You follow the same steps on your iPhone and start a secret conversation.

Step 1: Open the Facebook Messenger app on your phone.

2nd step: Tap the compose button in the top right corner.

Step 3: Activate the lock toggle at the top.



Compose a message in Messenger


Activate secret conversation

Step 4: You have the option to start a conversation with contacts from the list. Messenger will offer contacts based on your history and preferences.



secret conversation


Secret conversation started in Messenger

Tap a contact you want to have a conversation with and start sending messages.

Before we go ahead and try to do the same trick on the Facebook or Messenger web, let us stop you there. The secret chat option is only available on Messenger apps for iPhone, Android, and iPad.

Recent conversations in Facebook Messenger are separate from normal chats. When you compose a secret conversation in Messenger, the app creates another thread with the same person. Your normal cat remains intact.



Identification of the secret conversation

You can separate secret conversations from normal chat by checking the little lock button under the profile picture on the Messenger home screen.

Also on Guiding Tech

Secret conversation content support

You can think of a secret conversation in Facebook Messenger as a simplified (but much more secure) messaging experience.

Secret conversations in Messenger allow you to send the following format.

  • Text messages
  • Pictures
  • Messenger Stickers
  • Videos
  • Voice recordings
  • Voice and video calls

However, you can’t start a secret group chat, and you can’t send gifs either. Secret Chat also doesn’t support payments.

Lots of limitations if you ask us. If these functions are important to you, you should avoid using secret conversations in Facebook Messenger.

Verify that the secret conversation is encrypted

To make sure the secret conversation is well encrypted, you can compare the device key on your phone with the one on your friend’s phone. Here’s how.

Step 1: Open Facebook Messenger and go to any secret conversation.

2nd step: Tap the information button in the upper right corner.



Open email information


Check encryption keys in Messenger

Step 3: Select your keys.

Compare the keys with your name on your friend’s device using a screenshot. Let’s say your device keys are 345 on your phone. It should mirror the same under the other person’s phone.

Delete secret conversations in Messenger

Once you are done with the secret messaging in Facebook Messenger, you need to delete the chat. This way you can prevent these chats from unauthorized access. Here is how to delete secret conversations in Facebook Messenger.

Step 1: Launch Facebook Messenger and open a secret conversation.

2nd step: Tap the info button at the top and open the profile menu.

Step 3: Scroll down and select Delete Chat.



Open email information


Remove Messenger

Confirm your decision.

Using multiple devices with a secret conversation

You can still use multiple devices to start a secret conversation. If you have another iPhone or Android lying around, you can also use a secret chat on them.

However, don’t expect your previous secret conversations on the last phone to show up here. You’ll start over on a new phone, and Facebook won’t sync secret conversations from your old phone to a new one.

When you start using a new phone, you and the participant receive a notification that you are using a new device.

Enjoy private conversations

Unlike Snapchat, there is no way to detect if the other person is taking screenshots of secret conversations in Facebook Messenger. Before you share confidential media and other information in a conversation, keep this in mind.

Last updated on December 20, 2021


The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.


Share.

Comments are closed.