When do you see “Shared with you” on iPhone and what apps support it?

0


iOS 15 just rolled out to everyone last week and it brings new features that aim to make your life easier than ever. One of the features that debuts with the new mobile operating system is “Shared With You,” a feature that highlights content and media that is shared with you by others through the Messages app. In this article, we’ll explain what ‘Shared with you’ is, when do you see it, which apps support it, and how to get it to work on your iPhone.

What is “Shared with you” on iOS 15?

“Shared with you” is a native feature of the Messages app on iOS 15 that displays all media and other content sent to you by others through the Messages app on your iPhone. Whether it’s a link, suggested music, article, podcast, photos, or news someone shared on the Messages app, you should be able to see the ‘Shared with you’ label.

The “Shared with you” feature will include the content in its compatible application as well as the information of the content sender in case you want to interact with the content. When someone shares with you any type of content like links, images or videos, it will not only appear in the “Shared with you” section of the Messages app, but also in other apps that support this. new feature.

In the “Shared with you” section, you will be able to see the name of the sender and when you tap on it you will be taken to that specific interaction where this content has been shared with you. Before that, whenever you wanted to know who maybe sent you a photo or video on iMessage, you had to open your recent conversations and scroll through the content shared between you and the other person. “Shared with you” eliminates this process by giving you accurate information about the origin of the shared content.

When do you see the wording “Shared with you” on iOS?

Currently, “Shared with you” only works on media and content that you share using the Messages app on any Apple device. This means that items shared with you will only appear with a “Shared with you” label when others send them to you through iMessage (or Messages). If you are using other messaging apps like WhatsApp, Telegram, or Google Chat, you won’t be able to see the “Shared with you” label appear when someone is sharing content with you.

The Messages app will further separate the shared content into different sections like images, links, etc. Pictures will show all the pictures and videos shared in the conversation. The Links section will display website URLs, links to Apple Music, Apple TV, podcasts, and other content.

What apps support “Shared with you”?

Now that it has been established that “Shared with you” only appears for items sent on the Messages app, you may be wondering which apps support and host the “Shared with you” section from within apps. .

Content shared with you on the Messages app will also be organized in the Shared with you section in those apps – Apple Music, Apple TV, Apple News, Photos, Podcasts, and Safari. Each of these apps will now have a new section titled “Shared with you” which will house all content associated with the supported app.

  • Apple Music: Shared with you will be visible in the “Listen now” tab.
  • Apple tv: Shared with You will be visible under ‘Watch now’.
  • Apple News: Shared with you will be visible in the “Today” tab.
  • Pictures: Shared with you will be visible under “For you”.
  • Podcasts: Shared with you will be visible in ‘Listed Now’.
  • Safari: Shared with you will be visible if you scroll down the Safari home page.

How to activate “Shared with you” on your iPhone

The new “Shared with you” feature should be enabled on iOS 15 by default, but if not, you can enable it yourself from the Settings app. To do this, open the Settings application on your iPhone and select the “Messages” section.

In Messages, select the option “Shared with you”.

On the next screen, you can activate the “Shared with you” function by activating the toggle adjacent to “Automatic sharing”.

At any time you don’t want to use the “Shared with you” feature, you can turn off this toggle and continue using the Messages app as you always have.

How to activate / deactivate “Shared with you” for certain applications

In addition to enabling the “Shared with you” feature for all compatible apps, you have the option to select which apps can use the feature on your iPhone. This way, you can only enable “Shared with you” for apps where you want to categorize content based on who shared it with you and prevent other apps from tagging shared content.

To turn on / off the ‘Shared with you’ feature for supported apps, open the Settings app and go to Messages> Shared with you.

Inside the “Shared with you” screen, tap the toggle (green) next to the apps you want to turn off “Shared with you”.

You can leave the toggle enabled for any apps you want to see the “Shared with you” label for.

How to hide people from “Shared with you”

If you no longer want someone’s shared content to appear on your supported apps, you can hide it in the “Shared with you” section. To hide someone in “Shared with you,” open the Messages app, select the person you want to hide, and then tap their contact photo at the top. On the screen that appears next, tap the toggle (green) adjacent to “Show sharing with you”.

You can also hide someone from “Shared with you” by long pressing the person’s thread in the Messages app and then selecting the “Hide from Shared with You” option from the overflow menu that appears. .

How to appear in the “Shared with you” sections of others

If you want to appear in the Shared with you sections on other people’s iPhones, you will need to start sharing content through the Messages app from apps that support the Shared with you feature. When you send supported content from any of the compatible apps, your name should appear in the “Shared with you” sections on the recipient’s iPhone.

Apple Music

To share a song you want from Apple Music, open the app and locate the song or album you want to share. When you find your favorite song or album, long press your selection and then select the “Share song” or “Share album” option on the screen.

When the share sheet appears, choose the Messages app, and then select the contact you want to share the content with.

Apple tv

To appear in the “Shared with You” section on others’ Apple TV apps, you must share a movie or TV show available on the Apple TV app from your iPhone. To do this, open the Apple TV app and find a title you want to share. To share a show or movie, long press it and select the “Share” option from the overflow menu. In the sharing sheet that appears next, select Messages, and then tap the contact you want to share content with.

Apple News

If you find an article in Apple News that is interesting to read, long press it and select the “Share story” option. When the share sheet appears, tap Messages and select the contact you want to share content with.

Pictures

To share a photo or video from the Photos app, long press an item and select the Share option. In the Share sheet, select Messages, and then tap the contact you want to share content with.

Podcasts

If you want to share a podcast you like to listen to, long press a podcast episode and then select the “Share Episode” option from the drop-down menu. When the share sheet appears on the screen, tap on Messages and from there, select the contact you want to share content with.

Safari

If you have a website that you want to share with someone on Messages, open it in Safari, then tap the Share icon in the tab bar at the bottom. In the sharing sheet that appears, tap on Messages and from there, select the contact you want to share content with.

That’s all we have to share about “Share with you” on iOS 15.

RELATED


Share.

Leave A Reply